The Atlas of Climate Change by
This highly acclaimed atlas distills the vast science of climate change, providing a reliable and insightful guide to this rapidly growing field. Since the 2006 publication of the first edition, climate change has climbed even higher up the global agenda. This new edition reflects the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and in current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the world's weather. The atlas covers a wide range of topics, including warning signs, vulnerable populations, health impacts, renewable energy, emissions reduction, personal and public action. The third edition includes new or additional coverage of a number of topics, including agreements reached in Copenhagen and Cancun, ocean warming and increased acidity, the economic impact of climate change, and advantages gained by communities and business from adapting to climate change. The extensive maps and graphics have been updated with new data, making this edition once again an essential resource for everyone concerned with this pressing subject.
Climate Change by
Climate Change is a collection of a number of papers as well as chapters about the science of the subject. This collection is meant to inflame and excite conversation among engineers and scientists with society at large. It would serve as a catalyst for a three-credit course as a relatively new engineering subject to both engineering and non-engineering university students. As university education develops to better prepare future leaders to appreciate science, technology, engineering and mathematics, engineering courses for a mix of engineering and non-engineering majors, are essential and so is the requirement of worthy textbooks. This monograph intends to be one of the useful tools available for this timely topic. The wide range of topics includes climate change and theories, the second law of thermodynamics, the global greenhouse effect, anthropogenic heat release, evidence around us owing to environmental change, sea level rise, jungles and forests, heat islands, atmospheric carbon dioxide removal via technology, nanotechnology and other innovations in response to climate change, the energya "watera "food nexus.
Climate Migrants by
Around the world, from US coastal towns to island nations of the Pacific and the deserts of Africa, people are in danger of losing their homes. Some have already fled. Others know they are running out of time. By 2050, at least 25 million people will be driven from their homes due to the effects of climate change. Droughts, desertification, rising sea levels, melting permafrost, and severe storms are drastically redefining the planet's landscape and leaving many places unable to support human populations. Although developing nations are especially vulnerable to the impacts of extreme climate shifts, ultimately, people in wealthy countries will also be forced to migrate. Experts expect Americans to move from drought-ravaged California, sea-swept Florida, and numerous other vulnerable areas to crowd into the few remaining safe havens. Humans cannot stop climate change altogether. Yet leaders can minimize the damage by curbing carbon dioxide emissions that contribute to climate change and by adapting communities to better withstand climate-related stresses. Even so, for many people, relocation is already a reality. How they adjust to their new homes--and how their new communities adjust to them--will set the stage for a future defined by a warming planet.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.
Global Climate Change by
This volume updates readers on major studies on global warming; the effects of changing climate for the most sensitive areas of the planet; and debates on how to respond today and in the future. Also covered is the relationship between science and politics within the scientific field. This volume offers readers a timely update on the major developments in a subject that continues to change each year.
The Carbon Footprint Wars by
Climate change is acknowledged to be the major problem currently facing the human race, and the need to reduce our carbon footprint becomes ever more urgent as the scientific predictions of the effects of climate change become increasingly dire. Whether we are fully aware of the social andpolitical consequences of striving for a significant reduction is more questionable. The Carbon Footprint Wars identifies the many dangers inherent in the projected solutions - such as retreating from the spread of globalization, the current socio-economic paradigm for world trade. The war of words that is being waged over the appropriate way to deal with our collective carbon footprint has critical implications for us all. Stuart Sim examines the issues in detail, raising questions about the assumptions being made on both sides of the climate change divide. He argues that wemust urgently address the problem of how to engineer the best possible trade-off between economic survival and ecological disaster - and he puts forward some radical suggestions about how we should set about doing so.
Fracking by
Oil and gas trapped underground can only be reached by drilling deep beneath the oceans and the ground. But these deposits may soon dry up. One alternative being considered is fracking, which requires fracturing the rock underground. Discover how people use fracking to harness the before-unreachable supplies of gas and oil beneath Earth's surface, the challenges of this form of mining, and the controversies surrounding it.
How Mining Works by
Finally - Mining in Clear and Understandable Language How Mining Works explains complex mining concepts in a way simple enough for those who are not familiar with the industry, yet thorough enogh to be useful to long-time professionals. This colorful book presents a logical and sensible sequence for acquiring a strong working knowledge of the world of mining. Chapter 1 provides a quick geology review, explaining how the earth is structured ... how, why, and where mineral ores are created ... and how technological advances help us make educated guesses about where to locate new mines. The next three chapters present mining and refining operations. Chapter 2 offers in-depth explanations about the different types of mining, the equipment and procedures needed for both surface and deep mining, and Chapter 3 follows with six methods for processing the ore into usable refined metal. And, since not all mines produce metals, Chapter 4 covers nonmetallic operations that produce coal, diamonds, and aggregates such as clays and feldspars. The second half of the book puts mining in the context of the wider world. Chapter 5 examines four types of mining waste (including several subcategories) and how to deal with each. Chapter 6 looks at labor practices, environmental sustainability, and worker and community health and safety--all critical in today's highly regulated environment. Chapter 7 highlights mining economics, with detailed information on how mine products are priced, monetary arrangements between mines and smelters, and even the impact of reserves on mining's future. Chapter 8 takes a visionary yet practical look at the future of mining, covering not only advances in expected areas (like robotics) but also in biotechnology, with a fascinating look at how plants, insects, and various microbes could be used to extract metals. Appendix A provides a crash course in the chemistry sometimes needed to understand why rock goes in and metal comes out.
Our Energy Future by
Our Energy Future is an introductory textbook for the study of energy production, alternative and renewable fuels, and ways to build a sustainable energy future. Jones and Mayfield explore the creation and history of fossil fuels, their impact on the environment, and how they have become critical to our society. The authors also outline how adopting sustainable biofuels will be key to the future of energy stability and discuss a number of renewable energy options and biofuel feedstocks that are replacements for petroleum-based products. Our society is consuming energy at an alarming rate, and the authors warn that continuing fuel-usage patterns could permanently damage the environment. This book emphasizes the importance of continued scientific, agricultural, and engineering development while it outlines the political and environmental challenges that will accompany a complete shift from fossil fuels to renewable energy and biomass. Our Energy Future is an accessible resource for undergraduate students studying biofuels and bioenergy.
Sustainable Solar Energy Systems by
"The urgency of exploring alternative energy sources, especially in regions so detrimentally affected by current energy practices on environmental, humanitarian and political levels warrants a crucial effort in raising awareness and activism about renewabl"
Achieving Access by
At a time when the world's wealthiest nations struggle to make health care and medicine available to everyone, why do resource-constrained countries make costly commitments to universal health coverage and AIDS treatment after transitioning to democracy? Joseph Harris explores the dynamics that made landmark policies possible in Thailand and Brazil but which have led to prolonged struggle and contestation in South Africa. Drawing on firsthand accounts of the people wrestling with these issues, Achieving Access documents efforts to institutionalize universal healthcare and expand access to life-saving medicines in three major industrializing countries. In comparing two separate but related policy areas, Harris finds that democratization empowers elite professionals, such as doctors and lawyers, to advocate for universal health care and treatment for AIDS. Harris's analysis is situated at the intersection of sociology, political science, and public health and will speak to scholars with interests in health policy, comparative politics, social policy, and democracy in the developing world. In light of the growing interest in health insurance generated by implementation of the Affordable Care Act (as well as the coming changes poised to be made to it), Achieving Access will also be useful to policymakers in developing countries and officials working on health policy in the United States.
Historical Dictionary of the World Health Organization by
The WHO's history spans a period of over six decades, with particular emphasis on the past twenty years. This has been a particularly busy period in WHO's development, given the transition from international to global health cooperation, and thus the need to adapt to important changes in its operating environment. In some cases, WHO has been a direct part of the institutional arrangements that have been created, and has shared the increased funding, provided for global health. In other cases, the organization has had to adapt its activities and programs in response to rival initiatives. This has led to many changes, not only to the name of specific parts of WHO but the nature of their activities; and this second edition attempts to capture some of this institutional complexity. The Historical Dictionary of the World Health Organization covers the history of the WHO through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on key bodies, programs, events and people. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the World Health Organization.
HIV/AIDS : The Fourth Decade by
PROGRESS HAS BEEN MADE IN THE ONGOING BATTLE AGAINST HIV/AIDSK
New HIV infections have been reduced by nearly 20 per cent in the past 10 years.
HIV prevalence has fallen by more than 25 per cent among young people in 15 of the most affected countries.
Fewer people are dying from AIDS-related causes. About 14.4 million life-years have been gained by providing antiretroviral therapy.
The percentage of HIV-positive pregnant women receiving treatment to prevent transmission of the virus to their child increased from 35 per cent in 2007 to 53 per cent in 2009.
In 2009, 5.2 million people in low- and middle-income countries had access to antiretroviral treatment, up from 700,000 in 2004.
DESPITE THIS PROGRESS
There are 10 million people still in need of treatment who do not have access.
There are two new HIV infections for every one person starting HIV treatment.
One in four AIDS deaths is caused by tuberculosis – a preventable and curable disease.
80 per cent of all women in the world living with HIV are in sub-Saharan Africa.
Since the beginning of the epidemic, more than 60,000,000 people have been infected with HIV and nearly 30,000,000 people have died of HIV-related causes.
Source: The 2010 UNAIDS Report on the global AIDS epidemic
Innovations in Maternal Health by
Innovations in Maternal Health presents a compilation of twenty-three innovations from the area of Maternal and Newborn Health. These innovations have been written in the case-study style for teaching, which will be beneficial for capacity building initiatives for health-care professionals. These descriptive cases cover innovative programmes, initiatives and technologies implemented in India. Each case is complemented by a documentary film provided in the accompanying DVD. The book takes us on a boat ride through the rarely travelled riverine areas of the Majuli Islands of Assam and the Sunderbans in West Bengal to the state of Tamil Nadu, which is known for its constant endeavours to improve its health-care system, considered one of the best in the country. Technological innovations to address hypothermia in newborns and buy time in cases of postpartum haemorrhage in low-resource settings have been documented in detail. The book hopes to encourage readers to analytically view the need for innovations, critically analyse their success and challenges and the need for information sharing for better utilization of existing knowledge.
Journey Through the World of Malaria by
Our understanding of the pathogenic mechanisms of the malaria parasite has accumulated over the years with the advent of genomic knowledge playing a crucial role. Although great strides have been made in the field of malaria research, malaria still remains one of the most important public health issues in the world. Years ago, malaria was eradicated in some countries but global warming is playing a part in the spectacular re-emergence of malaria in some of these countries. There is still no effective vaccine, although some research has provided interesting data and anti-malaria drug resistance is the time bomb that has the potential of detonating the field of malaria research. Funder fatigue is now derailing the progress made over the years, which makes the field of malaria research look a bit gloomy. This book reviews the most important findings associated with malaria research over the couple of years with a timely overview. The topics covered include historical perspectives of the field of Malariology, life cycle of the parasite, recent advances in the epidemiology of malaria, pathogenesis with sub topics such as the parasite and immune system, virulence factors and clinical manifestations analysed in detail. The updated anti-malarial drug treatment, development and resistance are also discussed in detail. Finally, the social and economic burdens of malaria are looked at and various potential control strategies are put forward. This book will be essential to everyone interested in infectious diseases.
Slum Health by
Urban slum dwellers--especially in emerging-economy countries--are often poor, live in squalor, and suffer unnecessarily from disease, disability, premature death, and reduced life expectancy. Yet living in a city can and should be healthy. Slum Health exposes how and why slums can be unhealthy; reveals that not all slums are equal in terms of the hazards and health issues faced by residents; and suggests how slum dwellers, scientists, and social movements can come together to make slum life safer, more just, and healthier. Editors Jason Corburn and Lee Riley argue that valuing both new biologic and "street" science--professional and lay knowledge--is crucial for improving the well-being of the millions of urban poor living in slums.
Vaccination Investigation by
Vaccines are biological substances that cause the human immune system to build up its defenses against specific diseases. Public health officials recommend a series of vaccines for all children, as well as some vaccines for teenagers and adults. But not everyone gets the vaccines they need. Many poor nations don't have the resources to deliver vaccines to every community. Some parents refuse to have their children vaccinated because they don't believe the evidence proving that vaccines are safe. The effort to wipe out diseases using vaccines continues. Vaccine Investigation recounts the fascinating history of vaccines, their important role in protecting community health, and the excitement of cutting-edge research.
The Atlas of World Hunger by
Earlier this year, President Obama declared one of his top priorities to be “making sure that people are able to get enough to eat.” The United States spends about five billion dollars on food aid and related programs each year, but still, both domestically and internationally, millions of people are hungry. In 2006, the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations counted 850 million hungry people worldwide, but as food prices soared, an additional 100 million or more who were vulnerable succumbed to food insecurity. If hunger were simply a matter of food production, no one would go without. There is more than enough food produced annually to provide every living person with a healthy diet, yet so many suffer from food shortages, unsafe water, and malnutrition every year. That’s because hunger is a complex political, economic, and ecological phenomenon. The interplay of these forces produces a geography of hunger that Thomas J. Bassett and Alex Winter-Nelson illuminate in this empowering book. The Atlas of World Hunger uses a conceptual framework informed by geography and agricultural economics to present a hunger index that combines food availability, household access, and nutritional outcomes into a single tool—one that delivers a fuller understanding of the scope of global hunger, its underlying mechanisms, and the ways in which the goals for ending hunger can be achieved. The first depiction of the geography of hunger worldwide, the Atlas will be an important resource for teachers, students, and anyone else interested in understanding the geography and causes of hunger. This knowledge, the authors argue, is a critical first step toward eliminating unnecessary suffering in a world of plenty.
The Global Hunger Crisis by
Millions across the world face the daily challenge to find enough food to survive. Hunger is on the rise globally, with more than 1.2 billion people suffering from food insecurity. Rising prices are further restricting food access. In this deeply informative study, Majda Bne Saad identifies the causes for global hunger embedded in the current global political and economic system and highlights the key challenges facing food deficit countries. She shows how Western countries share the blame for global hunger through their support for subsidies to agricultural production and biofuels, which have created new challenges to food security worldwide. Bne Saad argues that, as world population rises from 7 billion to 9.2 billion by 2050, there needs to be a 'second green revolution' to grow more food. She looks at the factors constraining low-income nations from achieving food security and considers policies which could generate income and enhance individuals' entitlement to food.
GMOs, Consumerism and the Global Politics of Biotechnology : Rethinking Food, Bodies and Identities in Africa's 21st Century by
Despite sustained continental and national struggles for autonomy, sovereignty and independence in postcolonial Africa, the continent is increasingly embattled by the forces of globalisation which threaten African identity that is at the core of African struggles for continental and national unity. Situating the debates in the contemporary discourses on decoloniality, global consumerism, global food apartheid and the challenges and prospects of the emergent sharing economies, this book critically examines the importation, use and implications of genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and other such non-food products on African bodies, institutions and cultures. The book poses questions about how Africa can be decolonised both politically and in terms of global food apartheid and the dehumanising importation and use of �foreign� non-food products, some of which militate against the ethos of [African] identity, Renaissance and indigeneity. On note, the book urges the African continent to ensure the safety of imports ensuing from the global flows and circulations that are mired in the resilient invisible global matrices of power.
Hunger in the Balance by
Food aid has become a contentious issue in recent decades, with sharp disagreements over genetically modified crops, agricultural subsidies, and ways of guaranteeing food security in the face of successive global food crises. In Hunger in the Balance, Jennifer Clapp provides a timely and comprehensive account of the contemporary politics of food aid, explaining the origins and outcomes of recent clashes between donor nations--and between donors and recipients.She identifies fundamental disputes between donors over "tied" food aid, which requires that food be sourced in the donor country, versus "untied" aid, which provides cash to purchase food closer to the source of hunger. These debates have been especially intense between the major food aid donors, particularly the European Union and the United States. Similarly, the EU's rejection of GMO agricultural imports has raised concerns among recipients about accepting GMO foodstuffs from the United States. For the several hundred million people who at present have little choice but to rely on food aid for their daily survival, Clapp concludes, the consequences of these political differences are profound.
Food by
Did you know starvation kills more people every year than AIDS, malaria, and tuberculosis combined? Around the world, millions of people go to bed hungry every night. Farmers and ranchers produce enough food to feed everyone, but much of that food does not get to the people who need it most. In some places, food has become a precious commodity--almost like gold. In this book, author Kathlyn Gay explores the complicated interaction between food, business, politics, and the environment. She examines the international food aid system; giant "factory farms," which grow and slaughter animals using assembly-line techniques; and the genetic engineering of seeds, plants, and animals. These systems and practices promise to get more food to the people who need it--but the promises don't always pan out. Worse, many modern agricultural practices are harmful to the environment, to workers who product the food, and even to consumers who eat it. Gay explains that food politics will only become more complicated as Earth's climate grows warmer, bringing rising sea levels, shifting growing seasons, and shrinking freshwater supplies.
Environmental Audits by
Designed for business managers, environmental health and safety (EHS) personnel, and environmental engineers, this book can be used as a textbook or an industrial guidance reference on conducting environmental audits across all industries. It explains the audit process, from planning, to the actual audit, to the evaluation of results and necessary corrections. The primary emphasis is on condensing the numerous volumes of environmental laws, rules, and regulations into a brief and understandable series of questions. These audits also contain checklists for source reduction, waste minimization, reuse, and recycling before waste disposal. The audits will also encompass water, air, solid waste, remediation, chemical and petroleum bulk storage, and many health and safety requirements. FEATURES: * Includes a CD containing the USEPA multi-media checklists across all programs * Condenses numerous volumes of environmental laws, rules, and regulations into an understandable series of questions * Provides a supplement on how to deal with environmental regulatory inspectors
Industry Genius by
This book presents the inventive genius behind technological breakthroughs by ten global companies including Alcoa, DaimlerChrysler, Honda, ST Micro and Visteon. Readers will gain understanding and insight into how cutting-edge technology is helping protect the climate and/or the ozone layer, while contributing to the company's bottom line. Each chapter chronicles the challenge and triumph of invention, introduces the engineers and executives who overcome conventional wisdom, and demonstrates the contribution these companies are making to environmental protection. In full colour and crammed with graphics to illustrate the creative process of technological breakthroughs, the book is accessible and informative. The genius of these ten companies will inspire the engineer, the policy-maker, the student, the environmentalist, the CEO and the investor alike.
Rebuilding Sustainable Communities after Disasters in China, Japan and Beyond by
This volume examines lessons learned in reducing the impact of disasters on communities in China, Japan and other countries world-wide. Asia is the most disaster-prone continent. The 2012 data on natural disasters in 28 Asian countries, released by the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction and the Belgian-based Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters on December 11th, 2012 showed that, from 1950 to 2011, nine out of ten people affected by disasters globally were in Asia; that of the top five disasters that created the most damage in 2012, three were in China; that China led the list of most disasters in 2012; and, that China was the only multi-hazard-prone country. Similarly, the March 2011 Tohoku earthquake was the greatest known earthquake ever to have hit Japan and one of the five strongest ever recorded earthquakes in the world since 1900. Subsequently, the Center for Rebuilding Sustainable Communities after Disasters at the University of Massachusetts Boston organized a conference in November 2012 to survey the best practices in post-disaster rebuilding efforts in China and Japan. This edited book consists of selected papers from the proceedings of that event and previously invited contributions from leading scholars in post-disaster rebuilding in China, Japan and Namibia.
The Age of Sustainable Development by
Jeffrey D. Sachs is one of the world's most perceptive and original analysts of global development. In this major new work he presents a compelling and practical framework for how global citizens can use a holistic way forward to address the seemingly intractable worldwide problems of persistent extreme poverty, environmental degradation, and political-economic injustice: sustainable development. Sachs offers readers, students, activists, environmentalists, and policy makers the tools, metrics, and practical pathways they need to achieve Sustainable Development Goals. Far more than a rhetorical exercise, this book is designed to inform, inspire, and spur action. Based on Sachs's twelve years as director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University, his thirteen years advising the United Nations secretary-general on the Millennium Development Goals, and his recent presentation of these ideas in a popular online course, The Age of Sustainable Development is a landmark publication and clarion call for all who care about our planet and global justice. Visit http://cup.columbia.edu/extras/supplement/sachs-9780231173148 for additional teaching materials for students and instructors, including chapter summaries, key concepts, problem sets, and slides.
Eutrophication by
Eutrophication is an increase in the concentration of chemical nutrients in an ecosystem to an extent that increases the primary productivity of the ecosystem. It is similar to red tides, depending on the degree of eutrophication. Similarities include subsequent negative environmental effects such as anoxia and severe reductions in water quality, fish, and other animal populations. This book gathers the latest research from around the globe in the study of eutrophication including such topics as the role of fish communities in the eutrophication of shallow lakes; nutrient cycling in salt marshes to reduce eutrophication; the influence of eutrophication on arsenic speciation in lake waters; and the cost, ecosystem benefits and policy implications of remedial measures to combat coastal eutrophication.
Handbook of Marine Fisheries Conservation and Management by
This handbook is the most comprehensive and interdisciplinary work on marine conservation and fisheries management ever compiled. It is the first to bridge fisheries and marine conservation issues. Its innovative ideas, detailed case studies, and governance framework provide a global specialperspective over time and treat problems in the high seas, community fisheries, industrial fishing, and the many interactions between use and non-use of the oceans. Its policy tools and ideas for overcoming the perennial problems of over fishing, habitat and biodiversity loss address the facts thatmany marine ecosystems are in decline and plagued by overexploitation due to unsustainable fishing practices. An outstanding feature of the book is the detailed case-studies on conservation practice and fisheries management from around the world. These case studies are combined with 'foundation'chapters that provide an overview of the state of the marine world and innovative and far reaching perspectives about how we can move forward to face present and future challenges. The contributors include the world's leading fisheries scientists, economists, and mangers. Ecosystem and incentive-based approaches are described and complemented by tools for cooperative, participatory solutions. Unique themes treated: fisher behavior and incentives for management beyondrights-based approaches; a synthesis of proposed 'solutions'; a framework for understanding and overcoming the critical determinants of the decline in fisheries, degradation of marine ecosystems, and poor socio-economic performance of many fishing communities; models for innovative policyinstruments; a plan of action and adoption pathways to promote sustainable fishing practices globally. Collectively, the handbook's many valuable contributions offer a way forward to both understanding and resolving the multifaceted problems facing the world's oceans.
Marine Conservation Biology by
Humans are terrestrial animals, and our capacity to see and understand the importance and vulnerability of life in the sea has trailed our growing ability to harm it. While conservation biologists are working to address environmental problems humans have created on land, loss of marine biodiversity, including extinctions and habitat degradation, has received much less attention. At the same time, marine sciences such as oceanography and fisheries biology have largely ignored issues of conservation. Marine Conservation Biology brings together for the first time in a single volume leading experts from around the world to apply the lessons and thinking of conservation biology to marine issues. Contributors including James M. Acheson, Louis W. Botsford, James T. Carlton, Kristina Gjerde, Selina S. Heppell, Ransom A. Myers, Julia K. Parrish, Stephen R. Palumbi, and Daniel Pauly offer penetrating insights on the nature of marine biodiversity, what threatens it, and what humans can and must do to recover the biological integrity of the world's estuaries, coastal seas, and oceans.
Ocean Conservation and Management by
Oceans cover over 70% of the Earth's surface and contain a diverse array of species, habitats and ecosystems. As many as 100 million species live in our oceans, contributing to a rich biodiversity far exceeding that found on land. Marine extinction risk has ramped up rapidly in the past 50 years, to converge upon the level of risk seen on land. People use and benefit from oceans and coasts in a number of important ways – through recreational activities, coastal living, tourism, fishing, shipping, and exploiting reserves of oil, gas and minerals found beneath the sea floor in many parts of the world. What are the human and climate change-related impacts on Australia's fragile ocean ecology and marine habitats? Which species are most at risk? How is Australia conserving its rich marine environment, including the unique Great Barrier Reef? This book presents the latest key information on Australia's ocean conservation and management approaches, fisheries and seafood sustainability, and reef management and marine pollution. Are our current efforts to preserve the treasures of our mostly aquatic planet only amounting to a mere drop in the ocean? Also includes: worksheets and activities, fast facts, glossary, web links, index. Titles in the Issues in Society series are individual resource books which provide an overview on a specific subject comprised of facts and opinions. The information in this resource book is not from any single author, publication or organisation. The unique value of the Issues in Society series lies in its diversity of content and perspectives. The content comes from a wide variety of sources and includes: newspaper reports and opinion pieces, website fact sheets, magazine and journal articles, statistics and surveys, government reports, and literature from special interest groups.
The World Ocean in Globalisation by
Have we already entered a new epoch, the Anthropocene, dominated by the impact of human activities? What of the effects of increasing globalisation on the seas? Thirty-three experts on marine affairs and the law of the sea examine the emerging challenges for the World Ocean, inquiring into developments prompted by globalisation in central issue-areas of the law of the sea. These are explored systematically in sections on the key challenges and developments in the interface of science, economic uses and law (Part I); climate change and the oceans (Part II); sustainability of fisheries (Part III); challenges and responses related to global maritime transport (Part IV); and the regulatory responses to global challenges in seas surrounding Europe (Part V).
Agriculture in an Urbanizing Society : Proceedings of the Sixth AESOP Conference on Sustainable Food Planning by
In two volumes, selected papers presented at the sixth AESOP conference on Sustainable Food Planning are brought together, representing the academic work of worldwide experts in the fields of food planning and urban agriculture. This volume, therefore, provides an overview of the latest, state-of-the-art research in the field, drawing from areas such as spatial planning, urban design, governance, social innovation, entrepreneurship, and local initiatives, among others, to represent the current knowledge base for creating sustainable urban food projects.
Can a City Be Sustainable? by
Cities are the world's future. Today, more than half of the global population--3.7 billion people--are urban dwellers, and that number is expected to double by 2050. There is no question that cities are growing; the only debate is over how they will grow. Will we invest in the physical and social infrastructure necessary for livable, equitable, and sustainable cities? In the latest edition of State of the World, the flagship publication of the Worldwatch Institute, experts from around the globe examine the core principles of sustainable urbanism and profile cities that are putting them into practice. State of the World first puts our current moment in context, tracing cities in the arc of human history. It also examines the basic structural elements of every city: materials and fuels; people and economics; and biodiversity. In part two, professionals working on some of the world's most inventive urban sustainability projects share their first-hand experience. Success stories come from places as diverse as Ahmedabad, India; Freiburg, Germany; and Shanghai, China. In many cases, local people are acting to improve their cities, even when national efforts are stalled. Parts three and four examine cross-cutting issues that affect the success of all cities. Topics range from the nitty-gritty of handling waste and developing public transportation to civic participation and navigating dysfunctional government. Throughout, readers discover the most pressing challenges facing communities and the most promising solutions currently being developed. The result is a snapshot of cities today and a vision for global urban sustainability tomorrow.
The Hidden Potential of Sustainable Neighborhoods by
How do you achieve effective low-carbon design beyond the building level? How do you create a community that is both livable and sustainable? More importantly, how do you know if you have succeeded? Harrison Fraker goes beyond abstract principles to provide a clear, in-depth evaluation of four first generation low-carbon neighborhoods in Europe, and shows how those lessons can be applied to the U.S. Using concrete performance data to gauge successes and failures, he presents a holistic model based on best practices. The four case studies are: Bo01 and Hammarby in Sweden, and Kronsberg and Vauban in Germany. Each was built deliberately to conserve resources: all are mixed-used, contain at least 1,000 units, and have aggressive goals for energy and water efficiency, recycling, and waste treatment. For each case study, Fraker explores the community's development process and goals and objectives as they relate to urban form, transportation, green space, energy, water and waste systems, and a social agenda. For each model, he looks at overall performance and lessons learned. Later chapters compare the different strategies employed by the case-study communities and develop a comprehensive model of sustainability, looking specifically at how these lessons can be employed in the United States, with a focus on retrofitting existing communities. This whole-systems approach promises not only a smaller carbon footprint, but an enriched form of urban living. The Hidden Potential of Sustainable Neighborhoods will be especially useful for urban designers, architects, landscape architects, land use planners, local policymakers and NGOs, citizen activists, students of urban design, planning, architecture, and landscape architecture.
Forestry and Biodiversity by
As global demand for forest products increases, conserving biodiversity has become more urgent and challenging. Forestry and Biodiversity advocates adaptive management - a structured approach to learning by doing - to sustain biodiversity in managed forests. It draws on the theory and principles of conservation biology and forest ecology and illustrates them, and the challenges they pose, through a practical, real-world study of commercial forestry in a coastal temperate rainforest. This book will be of interest to those who plan, or hope to influence, forest practices and the future of the environment.
Biodiversity in a Changing Climate by
One major consequence of climate change is abrupt, dramatic changes in regional biodiversity. Even if the most optimistic scenarios for mitigating climate change transpire, the fate of many wild species rests on the shoulders of people engaged in conservation planning, management, and policy. Providing managers with the latest and most useful climate change research is critical and requires challenging the conventional divide between scientists and managers. Biodiversity in a Changing Climate promotes dialogue among scientists, decision makers, and managers who are grappling with climate-related threats to species and ecosystems in diverse forms. The book includes case studies and best practices used to address impacts related to climate change across a broad spectrum of species and habitats--from coastal krill and sea urchins to prairie grass and mountain bumblebees. Focused on California, the issues and strategies presented in this book will prove relevant to regions across the West, as well as other regions, and provide a framework for how scientists and managers in any region can bridge the communication divide to manage biodiversity in a rapidly changing world. Biodiversity and a Changing Climate will prove an indispensable guide to students, scientists, and professionals engaged in conservation and resource management.
Sustainable Land Management by
'Almost two-thirds of land in Australia has been modified for human use, primarily for grazing on natural vegetation. Clearing of native vegetation continues to occur for agriculture, plantation forestry, and urban development. Over the past two centuries, as land use has intensified for a growing population in this arid land, vast areas of native vegetation have been cleared or degraded, resulting in adverse affects on biodiversity, soil and water quality and the spread of weeds, feral pests and diseases. This book examines the damaging impacts of Australia's land use and agricultural activity, and proposes improvements to current farming systems. To ensure long-term sustainability, how do land managers consider the economic, social and environmental factors? 1 chapter: Land management in Australia. Also includes: Worksheets and activities ; Fast facts ; Glossary ; Web links ; Index. Sources of information: Titles in the ‘Issues in Society'series are individual resource books which provide an overview on a specific subject comprised of facts and opinions. The information in this resource book is not from any single author, publication or organisation. The unique value of the ‘Issues in Society'series lies in its diversity of content and perspectives. The content comes from a wide variety of sources and includes: Newspaper reports and opinion pieces ; Website fact sheets ; Magazine and journal articles ; Statistics and surveys ; Government reports ; Literature from special interest groups. Critical evaluation: As the information reproduced in this book is from a number of different sources, readers should always be aware of the origin of the text and whether or not the source is likely to be expressing a particular bias or agenda. It is hoped that, as you read about the many aspects of the issues explored in this book, you will critically evaluate the information presented. In some cases, it is important that you decide whether you are being presented with facts or opinions. Does the writer give a biased or an unbiased report? If an opinion is being expressed, do you agree with the writer?'
Sand Dunes by
In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the conservation, types and desertification of sand dunes. Topics discussed include the aridisation, dune dissipation and pedogenesis in the Quarternary of Eastern Pampean sand sea; desert sand dunes for sulfur concrete production; Allocosa brasiliensis as a model towards the conservation of coastal sand dunes in Uruguay and the causes, impacts and control of desertification.
Ethics and Animals by
In this fresh and comprehensive introduction to animal ethics, Lori Gruen weaves together poignant and provocative case studies with discussions of ethical theory, urging readers to engage critically and empathetically reflect on our treatment of other animals. In clear and accessible language, Gruen provides a survey of the issues central to human-animal relations and a reasoned new perspective on current key debates in the field. She analyses and explains a range of theoretical positions and poses challenging questions that directly encourage readers to hone their ethical reasoning skills and to develop a defensible position about their own practices. Her book will be an invaluable resource for students in a wide range of disciplines including ethics, environmental studies, veterinary science, women's studies, and the emerging field of animal studies and is an engaging account of the subject for general readers with no prior background in philosophy.
Eating Earth by
Contemporary environmental activists and the animal-rights community are more often than not considered separate movements, despite similar goals and attitudes toward desired change in the world. A fundamental distinction is seen in the environmentalist's broad focus on an entire species,whereas animal rights activists tend to think more about the behavior of select groups of people. Thus far, uniting these two movements has proven difficult, despite their sharing of many of the same ideological sentiments.In Eating Earth, Lisa Kemmerer reveals a potential place of common ground for the environmental and animal-rights movements: human dietary choice. The book links environmentalism with animal-rights thinkers, by exploring the many ways that mass consumption of animal products by people is harmful tothe environment. The book argues that rather than choosing to pursue separate agendas, a joint promotion of vegetarianism and veganism could lead to targeted results for both groups. Kemmerer discusses the harmful toll that the hunting and fishing industries take on ecosystems, and addresses howmodern agriculture's treatment of animals is both unethical and environmentally unsustainable. Chapter topics also include movements and ideas like ecofeminism and human-population control, and their intersections with environmentalism. A brief but poignant examination of what human beings consume,Eating Earth shows that the issue of dietary choice deserves to be considered in a new environmental light.
Introduction to Plastics Recycling, 2nd Edition by
Although recycling has a very long history, it is only relatively recently that environmental protection and waste management issues have come to the forefront of both public and political awareness. The removal of plastics from both the waste streams and from landfi ll have since become areas of major interest. Outside the fi elds of expertise, generally little is known about either plastics or their recyclability. A number of specialist books are available, however none has addressed the need to cover the pertinent principles at an introductory level. This book describes the options for recycling plastics with special focus on mechanical recycling. It touches on all the major problems associated with recovering and recycling plastics at a level intended to be accessible to any reader with an interest in this fi eld, whatever their background. It also looks at some of the broader issues surrounding successful waste management of plastics.
Organic Farming: An introduction by
There is a growing demand for organic produce, and this book explores the value-adding benefits of organic practices in farming, economically and environmentally. With a scientific background and a wide range of real world case studies, this book will help you consider different methods of organic farming and how to implement them. It will show you how to farm in a way that cares for the environment, without using synthetic chemicals. Includes sections on composting, earthworms, managing pests and diseases, converting to organics and certification.
Recycling by
In this book, the authors gather and present current research in the study of the technological systems, management practices and environmental impact of recycling. Topics discussed in this compilation include road pavement recycling technologies; polymer-base waste materials for recycling; cheese whey recovery technologies; environmental indicators for the plastic recycling industry; glass fibre replacement with banana tree fibre in high density polyethylene composites; recycling of different spent earth from filtration in the production of ceramic materials; recycling and reusing fibre-reinforced composites; recycling of regenerated wastewater using water cascade analysis in pulp and paper mills; disaster waste generated after the Great East Japan Earthquake; the social and environmental responsibilities of recycling; thermal degradation of polymers during their mechanical recycling; and recycling of petroleum oily sludge to produce sustainable clay ceramics.
Outsmart Waste by
Ever-expanding landfills, ocean gyres filled with floating plastic mush, endangered wildlife. Our garbage has become a massive and exponentially growing problem in modern society. Eco-entrepreneur Tom Szaky explores why this crisis exists and explains how can we solve it by eliminating the very idea of garbage. To outsmart waste, he says, we first have to understand it, then change how we create it, and finally rethink what we do with it. By mimicking nature and focusing on the value inherent in our by-products, we can transform the waste we can't avoid creating from useless trash to a useful resource. Szaky demonstrates that there is value in every kind of garbage, from used chewing gum to juice pouches to cigarette butts. After reading this mind-expanding book, you will never think about garbage the same way again.
Chasing Water by
Water scarcity is spreading and intensifying in many regions of the world, with dire consequences for local communities, economies, and freshwater ecosystems. Current approaches tend to rely on policies crafted at the state or national level, which on their own have proved insufficient to arrest water scarcity. To be durable and effective, water plans must be informed by the culture, economics, and varied needs of affected community members. International water expert Brian Richter argues that sustainable water sharing in the twenty-first century can only happen through open, democratic dialogue and local collective action. In Chasing Water, Richter tells a cohesive and complete story of water scarcity: where it is happening, what is causing it, and how it can be addressed. Through his engaging and nontechnical style, he strips away the complexities of water management to its bare essentials, providing information and practical examples that will empower community leaders, activists, and students to develop successful and long-lasting water programs. Chasing Water will provide local stakeholders with the tools and knowledge they need to take an active role in the watershed-based planning and implementation that are essential for water supplies to remain sustainable in perpetuity.
Sustainable Water by
Water scarcity, urban population growth, and deteriorating infrastructure are impacting water security around the globe. Struggling with the most significant drought in its recorded history, California faces all of these challenges to secure reliable water supplies for the future. The unfolding story of California water includes warnings and solutions for any region seeking to manage water among the pressures of a dynamic society and environment. Written by leading policy makers, lawyers, economists, hydrologists, ecologists, engineers, and planners, Sustainable Water reaches across disciplines to address problems and solutions for the sustainable use of water in urban areas. The solutions and ideas put forward in this book integrate water management strategies to increase resilience in a changing world. Contributors: John T. Andrew, Carolina Balazs, Celeste Cantú, Juliet Christian-Smith, Matthew Deitch, Caitlin Dyckman, Howard Foster, Julian Fulton, Peter Gleick, Brian E. Gray, Ellen Hanak, Maurice Hall, Michael Hanemann, Sasha Harris-Lovett, Matthew Heberger, G. Mathias Kondolf, Jay Lund, Damian Park, Kristen Podolak, John Radke, Isha Ray, David Sedlak, Fraser Shilling, Daniel Wendell, Robert Wilkinson, Cleo Woelfle-Erskine, Sarah Yarnell
Water Resources by
Water is a vital part of every ecosystem on the planet. It is a prerequisite for the basic function and productive efficiency of life on Earth. Today, approximately a third of the earth's population suffers because of water scarcity, and by the year 2025, this percentage is likely rise to two-thirds. Water Resources: Efficient, Sustainable and Equitable Use shows what conflicts this will entail, and provides a basis for possible solutions.
Wastewater Treatment Concepts and Practices by
Wastewater Treatment Concepts and Practices will cover the chemistry and biology of wastewater treatment, as well as the more common techniques for treating wastewater to a water quality standard suitable for discharge. The treatment of wastewater, as distinguished from the treatment of potable water, is discussed in sufficient detail to allow an upper-level or graduate college student to quickly find a clear explanation of concepts embodied in the study of wastewater treatment. The intent is to provide a comprehensive reference manual that students can turn to for an understanding of concepts involved in specific research or design projects without the need to search multiple sources for each problem or issue that arises. In the first section a review of the key points of chemistry necessary for effective wastewater treatment are presented and discussed. A fundamental understanding of chemistry is an important part of understanding how wastewater treatment works. This is not a subject commonly favored by civil and environmental engineers. Fortunately, it is not necessary to be a chemist, or even particularly competent in the subject, overall, in order to be effective at designing suitable wastewater treatment processes. It is the intent of this volume to address the process of wastewater treatment; not the mechanics of the machinery and reactors used to do the work. No amount of machinery and reactor vessels will ever treat wastewater effectively unless the process of using the equipment is properly developed first and the equipment is properly utilized afterward.
Environmental Health Narratives by
Andrew woke up with a guinea worm coming out of his foot as a result of drinking unsafe water a year previously. Anjali awoke with a cough because smoke from kilns filled her dilapidated home. Tyler stayed home from school because he had a stomachache from eating bad beef. What are the links between the environments in which these young people live and their health problems? The stories, most set in poor communities, draw attention to the effects of air, water, food, climate, urbanization, and other human impacts on health. A comprehensive teaching guide provides a context from which readers can explore problems and solutions in environmental health.
